In the tested ALL cell-line panel, racemic Nutlin-3 reduced viability in wild-type-p53 lines, while mutant/null lines showed little comparable response. At 10 μM for 48 h, representative annexin-V plots showed 82% positive UOC-B3 cells and 6% positive EU-6 cells. These are representative flow-cytometry values, not population means. [2]
DNA-damage-response markers varied by model: Nutlin-3 increased γH2AX in mouse AJ02-NM0 colon cancer cells, whereas no increase was detected in human HCT116 cells under the reported 24 h conditions. Nutlin-3a, but not Nutlin-3b, reproduced the mouse-cell response. These results limit a blanket description of Nutlin-3 as having no DNA-damage-associated effects. [3]
p53-status-associated responses in ALL cell lines
Cell-based study · Pediatric ALL cell-line panel; representative UOC-B3 and Reh (wild-type p53), EU-4 (p53-null) and EU-6 (mutant p53). [2]
Nutlin-3 reduced viability in wild-type-p53 ALL lines; mutant/null lines lacked comparable responses. UOC-B3, unlike EU-6, showed prominent annexin-V positivity and caspase-3/PARP cleavage. This panel does not establish universal p53 dependence in all cell types.
Literature-Reported Treatment Conditions
- Treatment concentration
- 0–10 μM total racemate for viability; 10 μM for annexin-V and immunoblot examples
- Exposure duration
- 48 h viability; 0, 8, 24 and 48 h annexin-V/immunoblot examples
- Method
- WST viability assay, annexin-V flow cytometry and immunoblotting
- Vehicle
- Ethanol; final concentration held constant within experiments
- Reported limits
- Final ethanol percentage not specified in the selected reagent paragraph. Representative annexin-V percentages have no replicate uncertainty stated in Figure 1c.
Methods and source locations
Compound reported in the paper: Nutlin-3; Compound label in the paper: Nutlin-3, equimolar mixture of Nutlin-3a and Nutlin-3b (Cayman Chemical)
Literature results for the reported material and model; no validation of A10657 lots or equivalence to isolated Nutlin-3a.
Figure 1a-d and caption; Results: Nutlin-3 induces cell death in ALL cell lines; Methods: reagents, cytotoxicity, apoptosis
Viability relative to control at 48 h: WST; mean percentage ± SD from three independent experiments — Figure 1b and caption
Annexin-V-positive cells after 10 μM Nutlin-3 for 48 h: Flow cytometry; printed representative percentages, not group means — Figure 1c and caption
p53 activation limits ATF4 transcription during mitochondrial stress
Cell-based study · HCT116 wild-type and isogenic p53−/− cells [1]
Nutlin-3 induced p53 and TP53INP1 in wild-type HCT116 cells and reduced ATF4 mRNA. Pretreatment attenuated ATF4 and associated transcriptional responses to short myxothiazol exposure; this attenuation was absent in p53−/− cells. Combination results are not attributed to Nutlin-3 alone.
Literature-Reported Treatment Conditions
- Treatment concentration
- 10 μM Nutlin-3; 1 μM myxothiazol in combination conditions
- Exposure duration
- Nutlin-3: 16 h total; methods specify 12 h pretreatment followed by 4 h with myxothiazol
- Method
- Immunoblotting and RT-qPCR; untreated, single-agent, combination and p53−/− comparisons
- Co-treatment
- Myxothiazol in explicitly labeled combination conditions; separate Nutlin-3-only controls
- Reported limits
- Nutlin-3 vehicle, catalog, lot and stereochemical composition are not specified in the selected methods.
Methods and source locations
Compound reported in the paper: Nutlin-3; Compound label in the paper: Nutlin-3 (AdooQ BioScience), stereochemistry unspecified
Literature results for the reported material and model; no validation of A10657 lots or equivalence to isolated Nutlin-3a.
Figure 5a-e and caption; Results: Preliminary activation of p53 prevents induction of ATF4; Materials and methods: Cell cultures and treatments, RT-qPCR
ATF4 mRNA and genotype-dependent response to combination: RT-qPCR normalized to corresponding untreated control; mean and SD of three independent experiments per caption — Figure 5c-e; associated Results paragraph
DNA-damage-response markers in mouse colon cancer cells
Cell-based study · AJ02-NM0 mouse colon tumor-derived cells [3]
Racemic Nutlin-3 increased γH2AX-positive cells and p53 stabilization/phosphorylation compared with DMSO. The active enantiomer reproduced these responses; the inactive enantiomer did not. These are cellular marker results, not a direct DNA-binding or clinical toxicity assay.
Literature-Reported Treatment Conditions
- Exposure duration
- 24 h
- Method
- γH2AX immunofluorescence with DAPI; p53/phospho-p53 immunoblotting
- Vehicle
- DMSO control
- Reported limits
- Figure 2 does not specify Nutlin-3 concentrations or replicate count/error-bar definition. A dose from another experiment has not been substituted.
Methods and source locations
Compound reported in the paper: Nutlin-3; Compound label in the paper: Racemic Nutlin-3; Nutlin-3a and Nutlin-3b comparators (Cayman Chemical)
Literature results for the reported material and model; no validation of A10657 lots or equivalence to isolated Nutlin-3a.
Figure 2a-c and caption; Results around Figure 2; Methods: Cell culture, immunofluorescence and immunoblotting
γH2AX-positive fraction versus DMSO: ANOVA with Bonferroni post-test as stated in caption; no exact bar heights extracted — Figure 2a-b and caption
Limited DNA-damage-marker response in human HCT116 cells
Cell-based study · Human HCT116 colon cancer cells [3]
Under the Figure 8 conditions, Nutlin-3 did not increase γH2AX staining relative to DMSO; 5-fluorouracil served as a positive comparator. This contrasts with the mouse-cell result and limits a general claim that Nutlin-3 necessarily produces a DNA-damage response.
Literature-Reported Treatment Conditions
- Exposure duration
- 24 h
- Method
- γH2AX immunofluorescence and flow cytometry
- Vehicle
- DMSO control
- Reported limits
- Nutlin-3 concentration and replicate count are not specified in Figure 8 or its caption; figure labels do not assign replicate uncertainty.
Methods and source locations
Compound reported in the paper: Nutlin-3; Compound label in the paper: Nutlin-3 (Cayman Chemical); no separate enantiomer label in Figure 8
Literature results for the reported material and model; no validation of A10657 lots or equivalence to isolated Nutlin-3a.
Figure 8a-b and caption; Results: Nutlin-3 treatment and HCT116 DNA damage response; shared immunofluorescence methods
γH2AX response versus control: Immunofluorescence and gated flow cytometry; no exact population estimate extracted — Figure 8a-b and caption; adjacent Results paragraph