Fig. 1 · Structure

Documents & Downloads

EIPA

TRPP3 channel inhibitor

EIPA (L593754; MH 12-43) is a TRPP3 channel inhibitor with an IC50 of 10.5 μM. EIPA (L593754; MH 12-43) also inhibits Na+/H+-exchanger (NHE) and macropinocytosis.

In Stock

Publications for EIPA

1 publication citing this product

  1. Sholihah, I.A., .et al. , BioNanoSci, 2026, 16, 396

Free Aliquoting for Your Order

Tell us your preferred amount per vial. We’ll confirm the options.

Biological Activity

Bioactivity / Mechanism

EIPA inhibits Na+/H+ exchange in cellular assays. In BxPC3 and MDA-MB-157 cells, 10 μM EIPA suppressed acid-load pH recovery used to assess NHE1 activity. This experiment does not establish a purified-target IC50 or universal isoform selectivity. [1]

Literature-reported observations and conditions; not Adooq-tested protocols or general treatment recommendations.

Target & Activity

Target Activity Value
COX-2  

In Vitro Studies

At 25 μM, EIPA inhibited albumin-supported growth of Ras-transformed cells under low-glutamine conditions. Added glutamine or dimethyl α-ketoglutarate suppressed this response, supporting a nutrient-dependent interpretation. [2]

EIPA also affected receptor-mediated albumin uptake in opossum kidney cells (extracellular endpoint IC50 ∼21 μmol l−1), while fluid-phase dextran uptake was preserved at 100 μmol l−1. Its endocytic effects therefore depend on the model and uptake pathway. [3]

EIPA (10 μM, 18–20 h) reduced basal and maximal oxygen consumption in both cancer cells and tissue-matched untransformed epithelial cells. This metabolic response was not restricted to cancer cells. [1]

EIPA suppresses cellular acid-load recovery

Cell-based study · BxPC3 pancreatic cancer and MDA-MB-157 breast cancer cells [1]

EIPA suppressed intracellular pH recovery after an acid load, used by the authors as an index of NHE1 activity. This is a cellular transport assay, not a purified-target potency measurement.

Measured endpoints — not treatment concentrations
EndpointReported resultReference
pHi recovery after acid loadqualitative response Recovery suppressed by EIPA; representative traces from three separate cell preparations[1]

Literature-Reported Treatment Conditions

Treatment concentration
10 μM
Exposure duration
18–20 h treatment in the general pHi methods; S1A specifies 20 h. The S1B-C legend does not separately restate exposure duration.
Method
BCECF pHi recording in HEPES buffer after NH4Cl-induced acid load; untreated control comparison.
Reported limits
Vehicle and EIPA supplier are not specified in these methods; no biochemical IC50 is established.
Methods and source locations

Compound reported in the paper: 5-(N-ethyl-N-isopropyl)amiloride; Compound label in the paper: EIPA

Evidence concerns the named EIPA molecule under the reported conditions; it does not validate A20092 lots or establish salt equivalence.

Supplementary Figure S1B-C and S1 legend; Methods: Intracellular pH and NHE1 Activity; Results: EIPA Decreases Basal and Maximal Respiratory Capacity

pHi recovery after acid load: BCECF fluorescence calibrated to pHi; S1B-C traces — Supplementary Figure S1B-C and S1 legend; Methods: Intracellular pH and NHE1 Activity; Results: EIPA Decreases Basal and Maximal Respiratory Capacity

EIPA inhibits albumin-supported growth under low glutamine

Cell-based study · MIA PaCa-2, T24 and NIH 3T3 [K-RasV12] cells [2]

EIPA reduced albumin-supported growth under low glutamine. Additional glutamine or dimethyl α-ketoglutarate suppressed this response, limiting a simple interpretation as unconditional cytotoxicity.

Measured endpoints — not treatment concentrations
EndpointReported resultReference
Albumin-supported viable-cell MTT signalqualitative treatment response Albumin rescue inhibited by EIPA; response suppressed by added glutamine or 7 mM dimethyl α-ketoglutarate; mean ± SEM, n=3 independent experiments[2]

Literature-Reported Treatment Conditions

Treatment concentration
25 μM
Exposure duration
6 days for Figure 4a; Figure 4b rescue duration is not separately restated in its caption.
Method
MTT assay; medium replaced every 24 h.
Vehicle
DMSO; vehicle-only controls
Co-treatment
0.2 mM glutamine with 2% final albumin; rescue with increased glutamine or 7 mM dimethyl α-ketoglutarate.
Reported limits
EIPA salt/counterion not specified; MTT is a viability/metabolic proxy rather than direct cell counting.
Methods and source locations

Compound reported in the paper: 5-(N-ethyl-N-isopropyl)amiloride; Compound label in the paper: EIPA

Evidence concerns the named EIPA molecule under the reported conditions; it does not validate A20092 lots or establish salt equivalence.

Figure 4a-b and caption; Results paragraph beginning Heightened sensitivity; Methods: Glutamine Deprivation Assays

Albumin-supported viable-cell MTT signal: MTT after 6 days; Figure 4a normalized to 0.2Q, Figure 4b to 0.2Q+Alb; t-test significance shown in source — Figure 4a-b and caption; Results paragraph beginning Heightened sensitivity; Methods: Glutamine Deprivation Assays

EIPA affects receptor-mediated albumin uptake in renal cells

Cell-based study · Confluent opossum kidney (OK) proximal tubular cells [3]

EIPA inhibited receptor-mediated albumin uptake in this NHE3-expressing renal model. Fluid-phase FITC-dextran uptake was preserved, providing a model-specific limit to treating EIPA as a universal macropinocytosis marker.

Measured endpoints — not treatment concentrations
EndpointReported resultReference
Receptor-mediated albumin uptakeextracellular IC50 ∼21 μmol l−1[3]
Radiolabeled albumin and fluid-phase dextran uptakepercent of control 14C-albumin: 23 ± 5%, n=4; FITC-dextran: 96 ± 7%, n=6, at 100 μmol l−1 EIPA[3]

Literature-Reported Treatment Conditions

Treatment concentration
100 μmol l−1 for time-course and tracer controls; a separate extracellular concentration-response series was fitted.
Exposure duration
10 min pretreatment and continued exposure during the Figure 1 uptake time course (up to 15 min).
Method
10 mg l−1 FITC-albumin in Hepes Ringer; uptake at 37°C corrected for surface-bound material measured at 4°C.
Reported limits
Vehicle not identified in the read methods; tracer-control durations are not individually restated in Results.
Methods and source locations

Compound reported in the paper: 5-(N-ethyl-N-isopropyl)amiloride; Compound label in the paper: EIPA

Evidence concerns the named EIPA molecule under the reported conditions; it does not validate A20092 lots or establish salt equivalence.

Figure 1A-C and caption; Results: Time course of inhibition of endocytosis and Action profile; Methods: Materials, Uptake studies, Calculations and statistics

Receptor-mediated albumin uptake: Least-squares concentration-response fit; Figure 1C n=6–12 Petri dishes; endpoint IC50, not target binding affinity — Figure 1A-C and caption; Results: Time course of inhibition of endocytosis and Action profile; Methods: Materials, Uptake studies, Calculations and statistics

Radiolabeled albumin and fluid-phase dextran uptake: Results tracer controls; mean ± SEM; n denotes Petri dishes, with cells of at least three passages used per experimental series — Results: Time course of inhibition of endocytosis; Methods: Uptake studies, Calculations and statistics

EIPA reduces cellular oxygen consumption

Cell-based study · HPDE and BxPC3 pancreatic epithelial cells; MCF10A and MDA-MB-157 mammary epithelial cells [1]

EIPA decreased basal and maximal oxygen consumption in cancer and untransformed cells. These observations limit assumptions that the metabolic response is restricted to cancer cells; a direct mitochondrial target is not established.

Measured endpoints — not treatment concentrations
EndpointReported resultReference
Basal and maximal mitochondrial oxygen consumptionqualitative response Both decreased with EIPA in all four selected cell types[1]

Literature-Reported Treatment Conditions

Treatment concentration
10 μM
Exposure duration
18–20 h
Method
Seahorse XF24 mitochondrial stress assay; OCR normalized to cell number; untreated controls.
Co-treatment
Sequential mitochondrial stress-test reagents used as assay probes, not a therapeutic combination.
Reported limits
Vehicle and EIPA supplier not stated in the read methods. Figure 1G-H legend misnames pancreatic cells; plotted labels, Results and methods identify the mammary pair.
Methods and source locations

Compound reported in the paper: 5-(N-ethyl-N-isopropyl)amiloride; Compound label in the paper: EIPA

Evidence concerns the named EIPA molecule under the reported conditions; it does not validate A20092 lots or establish salt equivalence.

Figure 1A-H and caption; Results: EIPA Decreases Basal and Maximal Respiratory Capacity; Methods: Mitochondrial Stress and Fuel Assays, Data Presentation and Statistical Analysis

Basal and maximal mitochondrial oxygen consumption: Figure 1: n=5 separate preparations/experiments for HPDE/BxPC3; n=4 for MCF10A/MDA-MB-157 endpoint plots; Tukey–Kramer HSD. Kinetic-panel captions state five preparations. No curve-derived values adopted. — Figure 1A-H and caption; Results: EIPA Decreases Basal and Maximal Respiratory Capacity; Methods: Mitochondrial Stress and Fuel Assays, Data Presentation and Statistical Analysis

In Vivo Studies

Continuous EIPA pump treatment attenuated MIA PaCa-2 xenograft growth over seven days and reduced intratumoral dextran uptake. Some tumors regressed. BxPC-3 xenograft growth was unaffected, limiting generalization across pancreatic cancer models. [2]

EIPA response differs between pancreatic xenograft models

Animal study · Female homozygous NCr nude mice bearing subcutaneous MIA PaCa-2 or BxPC-3 xenografts [2]

EIPA reduced dextran uptake and attenuated growth of MIA PaCa-2 xenografts, with regression in some tumors. BxPC-3 tumor growth was unaffected under the reported conditions.

Measured endpoints — not treatment concentrations
EndpointReported resultReference
Tumor growth and intratumoral dextran uptakequalitative response at day 7 MIA PaCa-2: growth attenuated, some tumors regressed, dextran uptake reduced; BxPC-3: no growth effect[2]

Conditions shared by the study groups

Route
Osmotic pump; implantation location not specified in read methods
Frequency
Continuous pump delivery
Treatment course
7 days
Vehicle
DMSO/PBS, reported 1:4 dilution
Study groups and reported outcomes
Group / doseComparatorObserved resultReference
MIA PaCa-2 xenografts: EIPA versus vehicle
20 mg/mL in pump reservoir; 0.11 μL/h
Vehicle-only pumpGrowth attenuated with some regression and lower FITC-dextran uptake versus vehicle.[2]
BxPC-3 xenografts: EIPA versus vehicle
20 mg/mL in pump reservoir; 0.11 μL/h
Vehicle-only pumpNo effect on tumor growth versus vehicle; dextran uptake reduction is not claimed for this arm.[2]
MIA PaCa-2 xenografts: EIPA versus vehicle
Model: MIA PaCa-2 subcutaneous xenografts in female homozygous NCr nude mice
Reported limits: Separate tumor-growth animal n not explicitly stated in the read growth paragraph; no mg/kg conversion.
BxPC-3 xenografts: EIPA versus vehicle
Model: BxPC-3 subcutaneous xenografts in female homozygous NCr nude mice
Reported limits: Separate tumor-growth animal n not explicitly stated in the read growth paragraph; no mg/kg conversion.
Methods and source locations

Compound reported in the paper: 5-(N-ethyl-N-isopropyl)amiloride; Compound label in the paper: EIPA

Evidence concerns the named EIPA molecule under the reported conditions; it does not validate A20092 lots or establish salt equivalence.

Figure 4c-e and caption; Results paragraph beginning The above observations; Methods: Mice (EIPA and tumor growth paragraphs)

Tumor growth and intratumoral dextran uptake: Figure 4c-e; percent tumor-volume change relative to day 0 shown as individual tumor waterfall bars; no exact values inferred — Figure 4c-e and caption; Results paragraph beginning The above observations; Methods: Mice (EIPA and tumor growth paragraphs)

MIA PaCa-2 xenografts: EIPA versus vehicle · Figure 4c-e and caption; Results paragraph beginning The above observations; Methods: Mice (EIPA and tumor growth paragraphs)

BxPC-3 xenografts: EIPA versus vehicle · Figure 4c-e and caption; Results paragraph beginning The above observations; Methods: Mice (EIPA and tumor growth paragraphs)

Specifications

Manufacturer Adooq Bioscience
Actions Inhibitor
CAS Number 1154-25-2
Applications TRPP3 channel inhibitor
Formula C11H18ClN7O
Molecular Weight 299.76
Synonyms L593754; MH 12-43
SMILES
O=C(C1=NC(Cl)=C(N(CC)C(C)C)N=C1N)NC(N)=N

Storage & Solubility

In Vitro Solubility

Reported Solubility

No reported solubility data are available for this product.

Preparing Stock Solutions

Stock preparation is unavailable for this product molecular weight.

Calculated stock concentrations do not establish solvent solubility. Refer to the reported solubility data for experimental guidance.

Storage

Store powder at -20°C, keep desiccated.
In powder form, the chemical is stable for 36 months.
In solution, store at -20°C and use within 1 month to prevent loss of potency. Aliquot to avoid multiple freeze/thaw cycles.

Research References

  1. [1] Manoli SS, Kisor K, Webb BA, et al. Ethyl isopropyl amiloride decreases oxidative phosphorylation and increases mitochondrial fusion in clonal untransformed and cancer cells American journal of physiology. Cell physiology (2021). PMID: 34038242 DOI: 10.1152/ajpcell.00001.2021 Source material
  2. [2] Commisso C, Davidson SM, Soydaner-Azeloglu RG, et al. Macropinocytosis of protein is an amino acid supply route in Ras-transformed cells Nature (2013). PMID: 23665962 DOI: 10.1038/nature12138 Source material
  3. [3] Gekle M, Drumm K, Mildenberger S, et al. Inhibition of Na+-H+ exchange impairs receptor-mediated albumin endocytosis in renal proximal tubule-derived epithelial cells from opossum The Journal of physiology (1999). PMID: 10545138 DOI: 10.1111/j.1469-7793.1999.00709.x Source material

Publications

1 publication citing this product

  1. Sholihah, I.A., .et al. , BioNanoSci, 2026, 16, 396

Added to your cart

View Cart Checkout
Loading...