After 72 hours, BS-181 inhibited MCF-7 growth in an SRB assay with an IC50 of 20 μM (SD 0.5 μM). MCF-10A and HMEC were also inhibited, with IC50 values of 15 μM (SD 1.8 μM) and 17.3 μM (SD 2.3 μM), respectively. The table reports at least three replicates; these results do not establish tumor-selective growth inhibition. [1]
Recombinant CDK inhibition panel
Biochemical assay · Purified recombinant CDK complexes, including CDK7/cyclin H/MAT1 and CDK2/cyclin E [1]
The panel favored CDK7 over the other tested CDKs; measurable CDK2 inhibition limits a claim of exclusive CDK7 specificity.
Literature-Reported Treatment Conditions
- Method
- Increasing inhibitor concentrations; roscovitine comparator
- Reported limits
- Reaction duration, ATP concentration, and complete assay control setup are not specified in the acquired main methods; underlying supplementary curves were not retrieved.
Methods and source locations
Compound reported in the paper: BS-181; Compound label in the paper: BS-181; isolated salt unspecified
Applies to the paper-tested material and model. No Adooq lot validation or salt conversion.
Table 1 and footnote; In vitro Kinase Assays; Synthesis of BS-181 and in vitro kinase inhibition
CDK7/cyclin H/MAT1 activity: PKLight luciferase assay of ATP remaining — Table 1, CDK7 row and footnote
CDK2/cyclin E activity: PKLight luciferase assay of ATP remaining — Table 1, CDK2 row and footnote
Cell-growth inhibition with mammary comparator lines
Cell-based study · Human cell-line panel; selected rows: MCF-7, MCF-10A and HMEC [1]
The 72-hour SRB endpoint showed micromolar growth inhibition in MCF-7 and in the mammary comparator lines MCF-10A and HMEC. These data do not establish a tumor-selective window.
Literature-Reported Treatment Conditions
- Exposure duration
- 72 hours
- Method
- Increasing concentrations; SRB growth assay with roscovitine comparator
- Reported limits
- Table 2 says at least three replicates without defining biological versus technical replication. Exact concentration series and vehicle for this assay are not specified in the reviewed table/main growth methods.
Methods and source locations
Compound reported in the paper: BS-181; Compound label in the paper: BS-181; isolated salt unspecified
Applies to the paper-tested material and model. No Adooq lot validation or salt conversion.
Table 2 and footnote; Cell Growth Assays; BS-181 Promotes Cell Cycle Arrest and Inhibits Cancer Cell Growth
MCF-7 growth: Sulforhodamine B assay — Table 2, MCF-7 row and footnote
MCF-10A growth: Sulforhodamine B assay — Table 2, MCF-10A row and footnote
HMEC growth: Sulforhodamine B assay — Table 2, HMEC row and footnote